13.8 C
Los Angeles
Sunday, February 5, 2023

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: England could face Scotland or Wales in group stage

SportFIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: England could face Scotland or Wales in group stage

London (Times Of Ocean)- Scotland or Wales may be England’s opponents at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, after the draw for the tournament’s final was made on Friday.

After the remaining European play-off path is completed, one of Wales, Scotland, or Ukraine will go into Group B.

England’s group also includes Iran and the United States.

The World Cup runs from 21 November to 18 December in Qatar, with Senegal playing the Netherlands in the opening match.

On the same day, England will play Iran in their first match. Both sides have never faced each other in a senior men’s competitive international.

The match will be played eight days after the England Premier League resumes after a six-week break.

In Group D, the reigning champions France are seated while Brazil, the new number one in the FIFA world rankings, are in Group G.

To reach the World Cup for the first time since 1958, Wales must defeat the winners of Scotland and Ukraine in the play-off final in June.

That semi-final – which had been scheduled to take place on 24 March at Hampden – has been postponed due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: All you need to know

2022 will be the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup, an international men’s football championship contested by national teams of FIFA member associations.

The event is scheduled for 21 November to 18 December 2022 in Qatar.
The World Cup will be held in the Arab world for the first time, and it will be the second World Cup held in Asia after the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan.

QatarEnergy, Crypto.com, and BYJU’S have been announced as official sponsors of the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup. “QatarEnergy is joining FIFA in this important FIFA World Cup year, and we are delighted to welcome them, as they share our excitement and enthusiasm for this first FIFA World Cup organised in the Arab world,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

“This year’s tournament will expand football’s reach and shine a light on the region, bringing different cultures from across the globe together in Qatar to enjoy the best football in the world in stunning state-of-the-art venues.”

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine
Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
Group D: France, UAE/Australia/Peru, Denmark, Tunisia
Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan
Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles